Saturday Movie : True Grit 1969

Love this western movie for many reasons . courage of a 14 year young girl , photography , story and cast and their role performances .

True Grit, American western film , released in 1969, that was a late career triumph for , who won his only Academy Award for his performance as the U.S. marshal Rooster Cogburn.

John Wayne in True Grit
John Wayne in True Grit

Mattie Ross (played by Kim Darby ) is a headstrong 14-year-old girl who is determined to find her father’s killer, Tom Chaney . She hires the drunken and slovenly Cogburn to help her track Chaney in a remote expanse of wilderness where outlaws roam freely. They are joined by La Boeuf .

John Wayne
(as Rooster Cogburn)

Goudy: Now is it not true that you sprang up on old man Wharton and his two sons with a deadly, six shot revolver in your hand?
Rooster Cogburn: I always try to be ready.
Goudy: Was this revolver loaded and cocked?
Rooster Cogburn: Well, a gun that’s unloaded and cocked ain’t good for nothin’.

Kim Darby
(as Mattie Ross)

Mattie Ross: [watching Rooster load his revolver] Why do you keep that one chamber empty?
Rooster Cogburn: So I won’t shoot my foot off.

Strother Martin
(as Col. G. Stonehill)

Mattie Ross: Do you know a Marshal Rooster Cogburn?
Col. G. Stonehill: Most people around here have heard of Rooster Cogburn and some people live to regret it. I would not be surprised to learn that he’s a relative of yours.


Mattie Ross: I hope you don’t think I’m going to keep you in whiskey?
Rooster Cogburn: I don’t buy that, I confiscate it. And a touch of it wouldn’t do you any harm against the night air!
Mattie Ross: I would not put a thief in my mouth to steal my brains!
Rooster Cogburn: Well, it’s the real article! Genuine, double-rectified bust head. Aged in the keg.

Love all.

(c) ram H singhal

Compiled for :Saturday Music Blog

Flow of Silence