Owls of Cosmic Web

Mind of Zero

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1910 was awarded to Johannes Diderik van der Waals ( 1837 — 1928 ) “for his work on the equation of state for gases and liquids.”

One of the most fascinating aspects of Van der Waals’ life is that he never received formal education and hence he wasn’t able to go to university. He was a self taught student of science and got into doctoral research later on in life through a government scheme.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1911 was awarded to Wilhelm Wien ( 1864 — 1928 ) “for his discoveries regarding the laws governing the radiation of heat.”

Regardless of the fact that He received his early education at home and was expelled from his first school for poor academics, he performed pioneering work in the field of physics.

He completed doctoral degree under the guidance of the eminent physicist, Herman Helmholtz.

View original post 74 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s